Small Business Wins Big on Election Day In Maryland

Date: November 10, 2014

Election Day
2014 was a good day for small business in Maryland. In a historical election,
Larry Hogan defeated Lt. Governor Anthony Brown in the gubernatorial
race and 50 of our 57 endorsed candidates won their elections. We’re also happy
to report that two NFIB members, Chris
Adams and Johnny Mautz
were newly elected to the House of Delegates in
district 38B.

NFIB SAFE Trust was an early and enthusiastic supporter of Hogan in his bid for
the Governor’s office. Throughout his campaign Hogan was receptive to NFIB
members and their concerns; during our endorsement event at member business Sunrise Safety Services in Glen Burnie, Hogan spent time
engaging business owners and employees. 
He also participated in an exclusive NFIB member only state-wide
teleforum. The time Hogan spent with NFIB members says a lot about his
character and his willingness to work with the business community.

While a
brief sigh of relief and celebration is in order, there’s a lot of work to be
done. Maryland small businesses are hurting: the non-partisan Tax Foundation
has ranked Maryland 41st in the nation for business climate; 6,494 small businesses
have closed their doors or left the state since 2007; and there was zero growth of
Maryland’s GDP last year, ranking us 49th in the country.

There are a
lot of mistakes to undo in order for businesses to get back on their feet. We
hope this election, which is being called a “mandate for change,” will be a
wake-up call to the General Assembly. Maryland needs to ease the tax burden,
roll back overbearing regulations, and ensure no new taxes or regulations are

NFIB/Maryland team hopes you will continue to reach out to your elected
representatives and get involved moving forward. Remember, pro-small business
legislators are still outnumbered. We are thrilled with the election results
and are eager to work together to “change Maryland” into a more business friendly
state. To get
involved please contact Member Support Manager, Miranda Bond at [email protected]
| 202-314-2070.

NFIB/Maryland SAFE Trust Endorsement Results



MD Senate:

1 George
2 Christopher Shank WIN
3 Corey Stottlemyer LOSS
4 Michael Hough WIN
5 Joseph Getty WIN
7 J.B. Jennings WIN
9 Gail Bates WIN
14 Frank Howard LOSS
29 Roy Dyson LOSS
30 John Astle  WIN
31 Bryan Simonaire WIN
32 James (Ed) DeGrange  WIN
33 Edward Reilly WIN
35 Wayne Norman WIN
36 Stephen Hershey WIN
37 Addie Eckardt WIN
38 Jim Mathias WIN

MD State Assembly:

Wendell Beitzel 
1B Kevin Kelly  LOSS
1C Mike McKay  WIN
2A Neil Parrott  WIN
2A Andrew Serafini  WIN
2B Brett Wilson  WIN
3A Victoria Wilkins  LOSS
District 3A Paul Smith  LOSS
4 Kelly Schulz  WIN
4 Kathy Afzali  WIN
5 Susan Krebs  WIN
5 Justin Ready  WIN
6 Robin Grammer  WIN
6 Bob Long  WIN
7 Rick Impallaria  WIN
7 Pat McDonough  WIN
7 Kathy Szeliga  WIN
8 Eric Bromwell  WIN
8 John Cluster  WIN
9A Warren Miller WIN
27C Mark Fisher WIN
29A Matt Morgan WIN
29B Deb Rey WIN
29C Tony O’Donnell WIN
30A Herb McMillan  WIN
31B Nicholaus Kipke WIN
31B Meagan Simonaire  WIN
33 Tony McConkey WIN
33 Cathy Vitale WIN
33 Sid Saab WIN
34A Glen Glass WIN
34B Susan McComas WIN
35A David Rudolph  LOSS
36 Jay Jacobs WIN
37B Christopher Adams  WIN
37B Johnny Mautz WIN
38A Charles Otto  WIN
38B Carl Anderton WIN
42B Susan Aumann WIN

NFIB’s Endorsement Event at Sunrise Safety Services

Related Content: Small Business News | Maryland

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2024 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy