Close

Share:

Delaware Passes a Minimum Wage Increase

Author: Miranda Bond Date: February 24, 2014

Thank the DE Legislators Who Voted Against the Minimum Wage Hike - SB6

Legislation increasing Delaware’s minimum wage to $1 above the federal rate sailed through the legislature last week with little debate.  Not only did Senate Bill 6 clear both the House and Senate on Thursday, January 30, but Governor Markell also quickly signed it in to law that same day.

This new law will raise the minimum wage in Delaware to $8.25 per hour in two increments. Delaware’s hourly minimum wage will go up 50 cents to $7.75 on June 1, 2014.  And on June 1, 2015, it will go up another 50 cents to $8.25 per hour. NFIB strongly opposed this bill.

“It’s a 13 percent increase in less than 12 months. Most small businesses will find a way to cope with it, but some will have to make tough choices.  So we’re creating winners and losers.” said NFIB State Director Jessica Cooper

Please email the legislators who stood up for small business in Delaware and thank them for voting against SB 6

Representatives who voted against SB6
Representative John C. Atkins
Representative Donald A. Blakey
Representative Ruth Briggs King
Representative Timothy D. Dukes
Representative Ronald E. Gray
Representative Deborah Hudson
Representative Harvey R. Kenton
Representative Joseph E. Miro
Representative William R. "Bobby" Outten
Representative Harold J. Peterman
Representative Michael Ramone
Representative Daniel B. Short
Representative Jeffrey N. Spiegelman
Representative David L. Wilson
email
john.atkins@state.de.us
donald.blakey@state.de.us
Ruth.BriggsKing@state.de.us
Timothy.Dukes@state.de.us
Ronald.Gray@state.de.us
Deborah.Hudson@state.de.us
Harvey.Kenton@state.de.us
joseph.miro@state.de.us
bobby.outten@state.de.us
jack.peterman@state.de.us
Michael.Ramone@state.de.us or
Daniel.Short@state.de.us
jeff.spiegelman@state.de.us
David.L.Wilson@state.de.us

Senators who voted against SB6
Senator Colin R. J. Bonini
Senator Catherine Cloutier
Senator Gerald W. Hocker
Senator Gregory F. Lavelle
Senator David G. Lawson
Senator Ernesto B. Lopez
Senator Brian Pettyjohn
Senator F. Gary Simpson
email
senator-colin@prodigy.net
catherine.cloutier@state.de.us
Gerald.Hocker@state.de.us
greg.lavelle@state.de.us
Dave.Lawson@state.de.us
Ernesto.Lopez@state.de.us
Brian.Pettyjohn@state.de.us
gsimpson@udel.edu

Suggested Text:
Dear Senator/Representative ________________,
As a small business owner and NFIB Member, I would like to thank you for supporting Delaware’s small businesses by voting against SB6, the minimum wage hike bill.

  If you don’t contact them, who will?

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

NFIB.com Poll: Sponsored by Insightly

Do you use a CRM to manage customer information?





POLL RESULTS

Do you use a CRM to manage customer information?

Yes, I use a CRM. - ( 204 votes )

CRM? I use Excel. - ( 105 votes )

Excel? I use paper and pencil! - ( 35 votes )

No, I don't use any CRM system. - ( 122 votes )