Small business owners should be aware of new labor policies that take effect in the new year: Minimum wage increases across the state, and a new paid leave law takes effect. NFIB State Director Mike Durant recently spoke with the Daily News about the policies, calling them a blatant assault on small business.
Minimum Wage Increase
Starting January 1, 2018, the minimum wage increases as follows:
New York City: The minimum wage increases from $11.00 per hour to $13.00 per hour. Businesses with ten or fewer employees will increase pay for workers from $10.50 per hour to $12.00 per hour.
Westchester and Long Island: The minimum wage increases from $10.00 per hour to $11.00 per hour.
Rest of the State: The minimum wage increases from $9.70 per hour to $10.40 per hour.
The minimum wage increases were approved as part of the 2016-2017 state budget. Annual increases will continue until minimum wage reaches $15.00 per hour in New York City, Westchester and Long Island and $12.50 in the rest of the state. View the timetable for implementation
New Paid Leave Law
Starting January 1st, employees are eligible to take up to eight weeks of paid leave at 50% of their average weekly wage after the birth of a child, adoption or foster child; to care for a close relative or domestic partner with a serious health condition; or to help when a family member is on active military duty. Allowed leave time and benefits increase through 2021.
All full-time employees with a regular schedule of 20 hours or more per week are eligible for the leave, which employees pay for through a payroll deduction.
A list of your responsibilities as an employer, including updating handbooks and providing required notices, is available here.