NFIB Honors 8 Senators and Representatives As Guardian of Small Business

Date: March 06, 2019

These Indiana lawmakers supported small business with their votes!

INDIANAPOLIS, March 6, 2019 —NFIB in Indiana, the state’s leading small-business association, announced today that eight state Senators and Representatives are recipients of its prestigious Guardian of Small Business Award. That award recognizes those legislators who have taken a strong and consistent stand for Indiana’s small business community during the previous session of the Legislature on every key vote.

“Each of these lawmakers understands the needs of Indiana’s small, family-owned businesses and the necessity of reducing the government’s role in their lives, as well as the importance that business plays in creating jobs,” said Barbara Quandt, NFIB’s state director in Indiana.

The Guardian of Small Business Award is the organization’s highest honor, reserved for lawmakers who demonstrate exceptional leadership and consistency in supporting the small business agenda. On the issues identified by NFIB members as most important, these lawmakers support was pivotal in ensuring that small businesses and the issues that affect them are a priority.

Those receiving Guardian of Small Business awards today:

Sen. Mark Messmer
Sen. Eric Koch
Rep. Heath Van Natter
Rep. Jerry Torr
Rep. Terri Austin
Rep. Cindy Ziemke
Rep. Kevin Mahan
Rep. Sharon Negele

NFIB’s Indiana Voting Record for all State House and State Senate members can be found at this web link:



Related Content: Small Business News | Indiana

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2024 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy