NFIB Endorses 46 Candidates For Idaho Legislature

Date: September 15, 2014

BOISE, Idaho, Sept. 17, 2014—The voice of Idaho small business today announced its endorsement of 46 incumbents, challengers, and candidates running in open seats for the Idaho Legislature.
“The thing we look for most is some awareness that small businesses are not smaller versions of bigger businesses,” said Suzanne Budge, Idaho state director of the National Federation of Independent Business. “They have different difficulties in remaining solvent, so even well-meaning legislation can look pro-business while at the same time be potentially harmful to Main Street enterprises.”
The official endorsements, based on responses to candidate questionnaires, were made by NFIB’s SAFE (Save America’s Free Enterprise) Trust, the association’s political action committee. NFIB has 330,000 dues-paying members across the nation, including 4,500 in Idaho. 
“Small businesses significantly impact Idaho’s economy,” reports the Office of Advocacy at the U.S. Small Business Administration. “They represent 96.8 percent of all employers and employ 57.7 percent of the private-sector labor force. Small businesses are crucial to the fiscal condition of the state and numbered 147,811 in 2010 … Most of Idaho’s small businesses … have fewer than 20 employees.”
Brief, single-pages of bulleted information on the power of the small-business vote, what a small business is and the distinctions it has from a big business can be found here.
State Senate:
District 3Bob Nonini
District 4Mary Souza*
District 5John Carlson
District 7Sheryl Nuxoll
District 10Jim Rice
District 11Patti Anne Lodge
District 12Todd Lakey
District 14Marv Hagedorn
District 15Fred Martin
District 20Chuck Winder
District 21Cliff Bayer
District 25Jim Patrick
District 26Dale Ewersen
District 27Dean Cameron
District 29Kert Howard*
District 30Dean Mortimer*
District 31Steve Bair
State House:
District 1AHeather Scott
District 1BSage Dixon
District 3ARon Mendive
District 4ALuke Malek
District 5ACindy Agidius
District 5BCaroline Nilsson Troy
District 6AThyra Stevenson
District 7AShannon McMillan
District 7BPaul Shepherd
District 8ATerry Gestrin
District 9BJudy Boyle*
District 10ABrandon Hixon
District 12ARobert Anderst
District 12BRick Youngblood
District 15ALynn Luker
District 15BPatrick McDonald
District 16ARosann Wiltse
District 18BDomenico Gelsomino
District 20BJames Holtzclaw
Dsitrict 21ASteven Harris
District 21BThomas Dayley
District 23BPete Nielsen
District 24ALance Clow
District 24B Steven Hartgen
District 25AMaxine Bell
District 25BClark Kauffman
District 29BTerrel “Ned” Tovey
District 32BMark Gibbs
District 33BLinden Bateman
* Indicates NFIB member
For more than 70 years, the National Federation of Independent Business has been the Voice of Small Business, taking the message from Main Street to the halls of Congress and all 50 state legislatures. NFIB annually surveys its members on state and federal issues vital to their survival as America’s economic engine and biggest creator of jobs. NFIB’s educational mission is to remind policymakers that small businesses are not smaller versions of bigger businesses; they have very different challenges and priorities.
National Federation of Independent Business/Idaho
802 W. Bannock, Ste. 301
Boise, ID 83702

Related Content: Small Business News | Idaho

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2024 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy