Date: February 15, 2018

Related Content: News Elections State Texas

NFIB/Texas Supports 33 Legislators with Primary Challengers

February 15, 2018 — National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)/Texas, the state’s leading small business association, announced today the endorsement of 33 legislative races in the upcoming primary election. The endorsements were made by NFIB TX PAC, which is comprised exclusively of NFIB members.

“The small business community has seen some positive growth in the hands of a pro-business legislature, and we continue working to elect lawmakers who understand the needs of this important community,” said Will Newton, Executive Director of NFIB/Texas. “These incumbent legislators don’t just claim to be small business friendly during the election cycle but make the right choices for their constituents and the Texas economy on key small business votes during the legislative session.”

“Small businesses employ more than four million workers in Texas, and that’s why it’s critical we support those who support the engines of our economy—small business,” Newton added.

NFIB has pledged it will activate its grassroots network on behalf of these candidates as political support is based on the candidates’ positions and records on small business issues. For a full list of endorsements, see next page. 

NFIB/Texas has nearly 20,000 dues-paying members representing a cross-section of the state’s economy from agriculture, construction, and manufacturing to wholesale, retail, and services. Additionally, NFIB/Texas membership is 96 percent comprised of businesses who have 40 employees or less and is the largest association advocating for small business in the Capitol.

Senate (4)

Joan Huffman — SD 17

Donna Campbell — SD 25

Craig Estes — SD 30

Kel Seliger — SD 31


House (29)

Dan Flynn — HD 2

Chris Paddie — HD 9

Travis Clardy — HD 11

John Raney — HD 14

Ernest Bailes — HD 18

Wayne Faircloth — HD 23

Dennis Bonnen — HD 25

Ryan Guillen — HD 31

Rene Oliveira — HD 37

Bobby Guerra — HD 41

Paul Workman — HD 47

Scott Cosper — HD 54

Hugh Shine — HD 55

J.D. Sheffield — HD 59

Lynn Stucky — HD 64

Ron Simmons — HD 65

Four Price — HD 87

Ken King — HD 88

Giovanni Capriglione — HD 98

Charlie Geren — HD 99

Linda Koop — HD 102

Rodney Anderson — HD 105

Jason Villalba — HD 114

Philip Cortez — HD 117

Lyle Larson — HD 122

Sarah Davis — HD 134

Jarvis Johnson — HD 139

Harold Dutton — HD 142

Shawn Thierry — HD 146

Related Content: News | Elections | State | Texas

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2018 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy