SC Primary Sets Stage for November

Date: June 10, 2020

South Carolinians went to the polls on Tuesday, June 9. The highlights:

   ◾ Sen. Lindsey Graham beat three challengers to secure the Republican nomination for Senate. He faces Democratic candidate Jamie Harrison in November.
   ◾ Republican state Rep. Nancy Mace will run against incumbent Democratic U.S. Rep. Joe Cunningham in the 1st Congressional District.
   ◾ Incumbent Joe Wilson secured the Republican nomination in the 2nd Congressional District. The Democratic candidate is Adair Ford Boroughs.
   ◾ Moe Brown won the Democratic nomination in the 5th Congressional District primary and will challenge incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Ralph Norman in November. 

In the many state legislative races, nearly all incumbent state senators took their districts. The exception was Senate Judiciary Chairman Luke Rankin, who will be facing a runoff against John Gallman on June 23. Twenty-nine of the 46 state Senate seats will be contested in the November elections; there will be three open seats on the ballot.


In the race for House, Reps. Jimmy Bales and Kit Spires lost as incumbents. Bales was a 20-year incumbent, while Spires has served 14. Reps. Neil Collins and Bill Chumley will have a runoff. 

Rep. Sylleste Davis of the 100th District faces a mandatory recount because she won the Republican primary by only 41 votes.

Overall, 49 seats will be contested in the general election.

And in case you’re wondering whether your vote really matters, consider the race 

And for those of you that may wonder if your vote really does matter, consider this: As of Wednesday morning, Kenneth Cosgrove leads the Greenville County Council District 22 Republican primary by just one vote.

Click here for full results from the South Carolina Election Commission.

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2023 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy