Employers Must Train Employees by October 1, 2020
On October 1, 2019, Connecticut’s expanded mandatory sexual harassment training took effect. Dubbed the “Time’s Up Act,” the law requires that employers with three or more employees provide mandatory sexual harassment training to all employees.
Mandatory training requirements for employers
Employers with three or more employees must provide all employees – not just supervisors – two hours of interactive sexual harassment training. Employers with fewer than 3 employees will be required to provide training only to supervisors. If the employer has three or more employees at any location, then any of those employees who are based in the state of Connecticut must be trained. For example, if a Minnesota-based company has ten employees in Minnesota and one in Connecticut, that one employee in Connecticut would be subject to the training requirements.
To train employees, employers can use the free online video provided by the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO). The CHRO free online training can be viewed by clicking here.
Deadlines for training employees:*
- All current employees (full and part-time) must be trained by October 1, 2020.
- New employees hired after October 1, 2019, must be trained within six months of hire.
- Employees promoted to supervisory positions after October 1, 2019, must be trained within six months of promotion.
- If an employer has already provided two hours of sexual harassment training to employees since October 1, 2019, they are not required to repeat the training.
- Supplemental training once every 10 years.
*Failure to provide the training can result in a fine up to $1,000.*
Notice and Posting required
The new law also imposes posting and notice requirements on employers with three or more employees. Employers must post in a “prominent and accessible location” information about the illegality of sexual harassment and available remedies to victims. Employers must also provide this information to employees via email. Failure to provide this information can result in fines up to $1,000. Download the notice and poster by clicking here.
Responding to harassment complaints
The new law also changes how employers must respond to complaints of alleged sexual harassment. The employer must receive written consent from the complaining employee before relocating the employee, changing their schedule, or otherwise modifying their terms of employment. Finally, the law gives regulators the authority to enter a workplace during normal business hours to ensure compliance with the posting and training requirements.
Employers with questions can contact Beth Milito in the NFIB Small Business Legal Center at 800-NFIB-NOW. Employers can also download a copy of the NFIB Model Employee Handbook for a model anti-harassment policy by clicking here.
This alert is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.