

















































































March 4, 2025

The Honorable Roger Niello Member, California State Senate 1021 O Street, Suite 7110 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SB 84 (Niello), as Introduced, SUPPORT - Right to Cure Under ADA

**Dear Senator Niello:** 

The Civil Justice Association of California (CJAC), and the organizations listed below, SUPPORT SB 84 (Niello) which would prohibit construction-related accessibility claims under the ADA and the Unruh Civil Rights Act from being initiated until a small business defendant has been served with a demand letter specifying each alleged violation and given 120 days to correct them. This is common sense legislation that will provide meaningful protection for small businesses and greater access for the disability community.

Due to California's current statutory framework for construction-related accessibility claims, businesses, especially small businesses, have been targeted by a limited group of attorneys to leverage settlements for technical construction-related standards, regardless of whether the alleged violation actually impedes physical access to the facility for patrons with disabilities. Alleged violations for something as simple as not having the appropriate signage or symbol can prompt a claim even when the alleged violations can be quickly resolved.

Unfortunately, businesses are pressured into paying settlements for these lawsuits instead of focusing their financial resources on improving access at their place of business. This is especially true for small businesses, which have limited resources.

SB 84 would address this issue by providing small businesses with an opportunity to fix all the alleged violations within 120 days of receiving a demand letter, which will improve access in California and allow businesses to avoid high price tag shakedowns.

For the foregoing reasons, CJAC and the organizations listed below **SUPPORT SB 84** and urge your aye vote.

If you have any questions, please contact Chris Micheli at cmicheli@snodgrassmicheli.com or 916-743-6802.

Sincerely,

Kyla Christoffersen Powell

President & Chief Executive Officer Civil Justice Association of California

On behalf of the below-listed organizations:

Civil Justice Association of California

Alhambra Chamber of Commerce - John Bwarie

American Subcontractors Association of California - Naomi Padron

Anaheim Chamber of Commerce - Jerry Jordan

Brea Chamber of Commerce - Lacy Schoen

California Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors Association

California Chamber of Commerce - Ashley Hoffman

California Fuels + Convenience Alliance - Alessandra Magnasco

California Grocers Association - Daniel Conway

California Hotel + Lodging Association - A.J. Rossitto

California Restaurant Association - Matthew Sutton

California Retailers Association - Sarah Pollo Moo

California Self Storage Association - Naomi Padron

Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce - Bret Schnazenbach

Chino Valley Chamber of Commerce - Zeb Welborn

Coalition of Small and Disabled Veteran Businesses - Phil Vermeulen

Flasher Barricade Association - Phil Vermeulen

Glendora Chamber of Commerce - Joe Cina

Greater Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce - Danielle Borja

Greater High Desert Chamber of Commerce - Mark Creffield

Lompoc Valley Chamber of Commerce - DeVika Stalling

National Federation of Independent Business - Tim Taylor

Newport Beach Chamber of Commerce - Steve Rosansky

North San Diego Business Chamber of Commerce - Sophia Hernandez

Oceanside Chamber of Commerce - Scott Ashton

Poway Chamber of Commerce - Mike Leland

Rancho Cucamonga Chamber of Commerce - Heather Polk

Roseville Area Chamber of Commerce - Rana Ghadban

Santa Ana Chamber of Commerce - Timothy Jemal

Santa Barbara South Coast Chamber of Commerce - Dustin Hoiseth

Southwest California Legislative Council - Adam Ruiz

Valley Industry & Commerce Association – Victor Reyes-Morelos Western Electrical Contractors Association – Richard Markuson West Ventura County Business Alliance – Andy Conli Wine Institute – Anna Ferrera

cc: Members, Senate Judiciary Committee
Amanda Mattson, Consultant, Senate Judiciary Committee
Morgan Branch, Senate Republican Caucus
Calvin Rusch, Legislative Director, Office of Senator Niello