Leadership Changes in Pennsylvania House and Senate for 2015-2016 Session

Date: November 05, 2014

The legislature
is officially adjourned for the 2013-14 legislative session.  Lawmakers returned to Harrisburg on November
12th to elect leaders for the 2015-16 legislative session.  Here is how those elections turned out:

In the House Republican
Caucus, Speaker-designee of the House is Mike
Turzai (R-Allegheny)
, who will be voted by the full House on
January 6, 2015.  Former Policy Committee Chair Dave Reed (R-Indiana) becomes
the new Majority Leader, while Bryan
Cutler (R-Lancaster)
takes over the Majority Whip position, William Adolph (R-Delaware)
maintains the Appropriations Chair position, and Sandy Major (R-Susquehanna)
continues as Caucus Chair. Donna
Oberlander (R-Clarion)
will become Secretary, Brian Ellis (R-Butler) will
serve as
Administrator, and Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre) takes over as Policy

For the House
Democratic Caucus, the leadership is largely unchanged with Frank Dermody (D-Allegheny)
remaining as Leader, Mike
Hanna (D-Clinton)
as Whip, Dan Frankel (D-Allegheny) as Caucus Chair, Joe Markosek (D-Allegheny) as
Appropriations Chair, Neal
Goodman (D-Schuylkill)
as Administrator, Mike Sturla (D-Lancaster) as
Policy Chair, and Rosita
Youngblood (D-Philadelphia)
taking over as Caucus

In the Senate, a
new team emerged as Jake
Corman (R-Centre)
takes over as Majority Leader, making Pat Browne (R-Lehigh)
Appropriations Chair and John
Gordner (R-Northumberland)
Whip.  Bob
Mensch (R-Montgomery)
takes over as Caucus Chair, Richard Alloway (Franklin) as
Secretary, Chuck McIlhinney (R-Bucks) as
Administrator and Dave
Argall (R- Schuylkill)
as Policy Chair.  Joe Scarnati (R-Jefferson) was
designated to remain as Senate President Pro Tempore when the full Senate votes
on January 6, 2015.

The Senate
Democratic Caucus reelected many of its leaders also , with Jay Costa (D- Allegheny) continues
as Leader, Anthony
Williams (D-Philadelphia)
as Whip,
Vincent Hughes (D-Philadelphia) as Appropriations Chair, and Lisa Boscola (D-Northampton) as
Policy Chair.  New to their positions are Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny) as Caucus Chair, Lawrence Farnese (D-Philadelphia)
as Secretary, John Blake (D-Lackawanna)
as Appropriations Vice-Chair, and John
Yudichak (D-Luzerne)
as Administrator. 

NIFB wants to
congratulate all of the leaders and we look forward to working with them to
improve Pennsylvania’s business climate for small businesses.


Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy