Governor Mills Announces 12-County Rural Reopening Plan

Date: May 08, 2020

Retail stores, restaurants and several other types of businesses may open to walk-in, dine-in, customers in 12 counties over the next 10 days provided the businesses follow appropriate health and safety checklists for their operations.

This major change in the Governor’s 4-stage gradual plan to restart economic sectors that were announced on April 28.

The 12 counties covered are Aroostook, Piscataquis, Washington, Hancock, Somerset, Franklin, Oxford, Kennebec, Waldo, Knox, Lincoln, and Sagadahoc.

Retail businesses in these counties may reopen starting May 11.

May 18 is the reopen date for dine-in serve and outdoor dining at restaurants in these counties as well as wilderness campsites and sporting camps.

Fitness and exercise gyms statewide may open May 11 for outdoor classes of 10 or less.  One-on-one personal training inside will also be permitted.

Shutdown or limited operations remain for Androscoggin, Cumberland, Penobscot and York counties though previously announced timetables continue to be reviewed, Governor Mills said. Outdoor dining in these counties prior to the Memorial Day Weekend is under review.

he Governor’s press statement is here:

Industry-specific checklists, timetables and other information is available here:

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy