26 Washington Legislators Earn 100% Small Business Score

Date: June 15, 2020

Tax, labor, health care among key issues for 2019-2020 sessions

OLYMPIA, Wash., June 15, 2020—The nation’s leading small-business advocacy organization today released its biennial scorecard for Washington state lawmakers.

“Main Street was hit by a barrage of damaging bills over the last two years – multiple tax increases, a doubling of L&I penalties, and expanded legal liability to name just a few,” said Patrick Connor, NFIB’s Washington state director. “This onslaught will make it even more challenging for small-business owners to rebuild, re-open, and re-hire as the state’s COVID-19 shutdown slowly comes to an end.”

NFIB tracks the key legislative issues identified by its small-business members every session and then tabulates a score for each Washington lawmaker in the state House and state Senate. The NFIB voting record provides a critically important evaluation of a legislator’s attitude toward small business based on floor votes.

More than two dozen state legislators earned a perfect score, voting to protect small businesses on every priority bill before them during the 66th Washington State Legislature (2019-2020).

While most elected officials claim to support small businesses, the NFIB voting record gives business owners and other citizens a picture of where their state representatives and state senators actually stand on critical Main Street issues.

“No voting record can truly illuminate what goes on behind the scenes in committee deliberations, closed caucuses, or legislative negotiations,” Connor added. “But NFIB’s voting record is an objective measurement of who stands with small business when it matters most.”

Senator scoring 100% on NFIB’s voting record for the 66th Legislature were:

  • Sharon Brown (Kennewick)
  • Ann Rivers (La Center)
  • Judy Warnick (Moses Lake)
  • Lynda Wilson (Vancouver)

State Representatives scoring 100% percent were:

  • Andrew Barkis (Olympia)
  • Matt Boehnke (Kennewick)
  • Bruce Chandler (Granger)
  • Richard DeBolt (Chehalis)
  • Tom Dent (Moses Lake)
  • Jeremie Dufault (Selah)
  • Mary Dye (Pomeroy)
  • Carolyn Eslick (Sultan)
  • Keith Goehner (Dryden)
  • Paul Harris (Vancouver)
  • Morgan Irwin (Enumclaw)
  • Brad Klippert (Kennewick)
  • Joel Kretz (Wauconda)
  • Jacquelin Maycumber (Republic)
  • Ed Orcutt (Kalama)
  • Skyler Rude (Walla Walla)
  • Joe Schmick (Colfax)
  • Norma Smith (Clinton)
  • Mike Steele (Chelan)
  • JT Wilcox (Yelm)
  • Alex Ybarra (Quincy)
  • Jesse Young (Gig Harbor).

Keep up with the latest Washington state small-business news at www.nfib.com/washington or by following NFIB on Twitter @NFIB_WA or on Facebook @NFIB.WA


For more than 77 years, NFIB has been advocating on behalf of America’s small and independent business owners, both in Washington, D.C., and in all 50 state capitals. NFIB is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, and member-driven association. Since our founding in 1943, NFIB has been exclusively dedicated to small and independent businesses and remains so today. For more information, please visit nfib.com.

NFIB Washington
711 Capitol Way South
Suite 505
Olympia, WA 98501
Twitter: @NFIB_WA


Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy