NFIB’s Iowa PAC Releases 2020 Senate and House Endorsements

Date: September 30, 2020

“We support the candidates that support small business!”

The state’s leading small business organization, NFIB, announced today that its state political action committee in Iowa, the NFIB Iowa PAC, had endorsed candidates for state Senate and House running in the upcoming 2020 General Election.

“Thank you to this fine list of Iowa small business advocates. Each of these individuals has been thoroughly vetted and has proven they are champions of small business,” said Matt Everson, NFIB State Director in Iowa. “Now, more than ever, Iowans need to know which candidates have the back of small business owners – the Iowans who create jobs and support Iowans and their families. I look forward to working with these candidates next session to ensure that Iowa’s economy – which is supported by small business owners – keeps moving along despite challenges like high taxes and a global pandemic.”


The PAC took several things into consideration before endorsement, but one of the most important tools it uses is NFIB’s voting record, which you can find here. NFIB’s State Director, Matt Everson, took eight key bills during 2019-2020 and scored legislators on how they voted. The voting record is also an important tool our members use before they decide which candidate to vote for. All of the endorsed candidates below have at least a 70% voting record with NFIB.


The NFIB Iowa’s PAC’s endorsement is important to these campaigns. Small business owners and their employees vote in high numbers and are known for actively recruiting friends, family members and acquaintances to go to the polls. NFIB’s political support is based on the candidates’ positions and records on key small-business issues. 


2020 ENDORSEMENTS – Iowa Legislature:


State Senate:


District 8         Dan Dawson

District 10       Jake Chapman

District 12       Mark Costello*

District 14       Amy Sinclair

District 20       Brad Zaun

District 26       Waylon Brown*

District 32       Craig Johnson

District 36       Jeff Edler*

District 40       Ken Rozenboom

District 46       Mark Lofgren

District 48       Dan Zumbach



State House:

District 1         John Wills

District 2         Megan Jones*

District 4         Skyler Wheeler

District 5         Thomas Jeneary

District 6         Jacob Bossman

District 8         Terry Baxter

District 9         Ann Meyer

District 10       Mike Sexton*

District 11       Gary Worthan

District 12       Brian Best*

District 17       Matt Windschitl

District 18       Steven Holt

District 20       Ray “Bubba” Sorensen

District 21       Tom Moore

District 22       Jon Jacobsen

District 23       David Sieck*

District 24       Cecil Dolecheck

District 25       Stan Gustafson

District 27       Joel Fry

District 28       Jon Thorup

District 30       Brian Lohse

District 37       John Landon

District 47       Phil Thompson

District 48       Rob Bacon*

District 49       Dave Deyoe*

District 50       Pat Grassley

District 51       Jane Bloomingdale*

District 55       Michael Bergan

District 56       Anne Omundson

District 57       Shannon Lundgren

District 63       Sandy Salmon

District 72       Dean Fisher*

District 73       Bobby Kaufmann

District 75       Thomas Gerhold

District 76       David Maxwell*

District 78       Jarad Klein

District 79       Dustin Hite

District 80       Holly Brink

District 82       Jeff Shipley

District 84       Joe Mitchell

District 88       David Kerr*

District 92       Ross Paustian*

District 94       Gary Mohr

District 96       Lee Hein

District 97       Norlin Mommsen


* Indicates NFIB member





District 22       Scott Cirksena



District 58       Steven Bradley

Related Content: Small Business News | Iowa

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2023 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy