72 Texas Legislators Earned 100% Voting Records on Small Business Issues

Date: January 13, 2020

NFIB says 72 Texas lawmakers — 14 members of the Senate, 58 members of the House — earned 100 percent NFIB voting records in last year’s legislative session.

They sided with small businesses on issues ranging from property tax reform to rural broadband to workforce development.

“Our members appreciate everything these legislators did to help create and maintain an environment where small businesses can grow and create jobs,” said Annie Spilman, NFIB’s state director for Texas.

“A lot of these legislators own and operate small businesses in their districts,” Spilman said. “They understand the challenges our members face in starting and operating their enterprises.”

Spilman noted that the NFIB Voting Record does not reflect every element considered by a legislator when voting or represent a complete profile of the lawmaker. NFIB’s 2019 Voting Record included six key votes on property tax reform, rural access to broadband, post-disaster tax exemptions, project labor agreements, workforce development, and lawsuit reform.

Here is a list of lawmakers who achieved a 100 percent NFIB Voting Record in 2019. Click here for a complete copy of the voting record.

Name (District)

Paul Bettencourt (7)
Brian Birdwell (22)
Dawn Buckingham (24)
Brandon Creighton (4)
Pete Flores (19)
Joan Huffman (17)
Lois Kolkhorst (18)
Jane Nelson (12)
Robert Nichols (3)
Angela Paxton (8)

Charles Perry (28)
Charles Schwertner (5)
Larry Taylor (11)
Kel Seliger (31)

Name (District)

Steve Allison (121)
Charles (Doc) Anderson (56)
Trent Ashby (57)
Ernest Bailes (18)
Keith Bell (4)
Cecil Bell Jr. (3)
Dwayne Bohac (138)
Greg Bonnen (24)
Brad Buckley (54)
DeWayne Burns (58)

Dustin Burrows (83)
Angie Chen Button (112)
Giovanni Capriglione (98)
Tom Craddick (82)
John Cyrier (17)
Drew Darby (72)
Jay Dean (7)
Harold Dutton, Jr. (142)
Dan Flynn (2)
James Frank (69)

John Frullo (84)
Charlie Geren (99)
Craig Goldman (97)
Cole Hefner (5)
Justin Holland (33)
Dan Huberty (127)
Todd Hunter (32)
Kyle Kacal (12)
Phil King (61)
Ken King (88)

Stephanie Klick (91)
John Kuempel (44)
Stan Lambert (71)
Brooks Landgraf (81)
Lyle Larson (122)
Jeff Leach (67)
J.M. Lozano (43)
Will Metcalf (16)
Morgan Meyer (108)
Rick Miller (26)

Geanie Morrison (30)
Jim Murphy (133)
Andrew Murr (53)
Candy Noble (89)
Chris Paddie (9)
Dennis Paul (129)
Dade Phelan (21)
Four Price (87)
John Raney (14)
J.D. Sheffield (59)

Hugh Shine (55)
Drew Springer (68)
Phil Stephenson (85)
Ed Thompson (29)
Gary VanDeaver (1)
James White (19)
John Wray (10)
John Zerwas (28)


Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2020 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy