92 Legislative Candidates Earn Key Small Business Endorsement

Date: August 18, 2016 Last Edit: August 30, 2016

The National Federation of Independent Business, Tennessee’s leading small business association, today said it has endorsed candidates in 92 state legislative general election races. The endorsements were made by NFIB/Tennessee SAFE (Save America’s Free Enterprise) Trust, which is comprised exclusively of NFIB members. The general election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 8.

“NFIB stands firmly with candidates who support small business and free enterprise,” said Jim Brown, state director of NFIB/Tennessee. “These endorsed candidates have consistently voted or have pledged to support small businesses on the issues that impact their ability to own, operate and grow their enterprises.”

NFIB’s endorsement is critical to these campaigns. Small business owners and their employees vote in high numbers and are known for actively recruiting friends, family members, and acquaintances to go to the polls. NFIB has pledged it will activate its grassroots network on behalf of these campaigns. NFIB’s political support is based on the candidates’ positions and records on small business issues.

NFIB is Tennessee’s leading small-business association, representing a cross-section of the state’s economy. To learn more, visit www.NFIB.com/TN or follow @NFIB_TN on Twitter.

ENDORSEMENTS (NFIB members noted by asterisks)

Senate (district, candidate)

2 Doug Overbey
4 Jon Lundberg*
6 Becky Duncan Massey
8 Frank Niceley
10 Todd Gardenhire
12 Ken Yager
14 Jim Tracy*
16 Janice Bowling
18 Ferrell Haile*
20 Steve Dickerson

22 Mark Green* 
24 John Stevens
26 Dolores Gresham*
28 Joey Hensley*
32 Mark Norris*


1 John Crawford
2 Bud Hulsey
3 Timothy Hill 
4 John B. Holsclaw, Jr. 
5 David Hawk
6 Micah Van Huss
7 Matthew Hill
8 Art Swann
9 Gary Hicks
10 Tilman Goins

11 Jeremy Faison
12 Dale Carr
13 Eddie Smith
14 Jason Zachary*
16 Bill Dunn
17 Andrew Farmer
18 Martin Daniel*
19 Harry Brooks
20 Bob Ramsey
21 Jimmy Matlock

22 Dan Howell
23 John Forgety
24 Kevin Brooks
25 Cameron Sexton
26 Gerald McCormick
27 Patsy Hazlewood
29 Mike Carter
30 Marc Gravitt
31 Ron Travis
32 Kent Calfee

33 John Ragan
34 Tim Rudd*
35 Jerry Sexton*
36 Dennis Powers*
37 Dawn White
38 Kelly Keisling*
39 David Alexander*
40 Terri Lynn Weaver*
42 Ryan Williams
43 Kevin Dunlap

44 William Lamberth*
45 Courtney Rogers
46 Mark Pody*
47 Judd Matheny
48 Bryan Terry
49 Mike Sparks
50 Nathan Massey*
53 Jason Powell
56 Beth Harwell*
57 Susan Lynn*

61 Charles Sargent*
62 Pat Marsh*
63 Glen Casada
64 Sheila Butt
65 Sam Whitson
66 Sabi “Doc” Kumar
68 Curtis Johnson*
69 Michael Curcio
70 Barry Doss*
71 David “Coach” Byrd

72 Steve McDaniel*
73 Jimmy Eldridge*
74 Jay Reedy
75 Tim Wirgau
76 Andy Holt*
77 Bill Sanderson
78 Mary Littleton
79 Curtis Halford
81 Debra Moody
83 Mark White*

89 Roger Kane*
90 John DeBerry Jr.*
92 Rick Tillis
94 Ron Gant
96 Steve McManus*
97 Jim Coley
99 Ron Lollar

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy