New Regulations Passed for Virginia Beach Rental Market

Date: September 13, 2016 Last Edit: September 14, 2016

Airbnb hosts now must register with the city and pay 8 percent hotel tax.

New Regulations Passed for Virginia Beach Rental Market

Mom-and-pop vacation rental
businesses or those who simply want to make some extra money by renting their
homes while they’re on vacation themselves now face more regulation in Virginia
Beach.

Last month, the Virginia Beach City
Council unanimously approved an ordinance that requires Airbnb hosts to
register with the Commissioner of the Revenue and pay a transient occupancy tax
of 8 percent, which is the same tax rate hotels pay. The new regulations are
effective immediately, and Airbnb hosts have 45 days (from Aug. 13) to register
or otherwise face getting a $1,000 bond or being fined $1,000.

Daniel Dill, owner of a waterfront
condo in Virginia Beach, spoke to WTKR News 3 TV and noted that he didn’t think
the regulations were necessary: “It [Airbnb] does tend to regulate itself. If I
get a bad review, somebody is not going to stay in my house. If I see a renter who
has trashed someone else’s home, I’m not going to allow them to rent with me.” 

Airbnb also sent a statement to News
3: “We’re extremely proud of the positive impact our hosts and guests are
having on communities like Virginia Beach. With clear benefits to local
economies and the evolution of travel, we believe that cities should make it
easier—not harder—for everyday people to share their homes and give travelers
more options.”

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today
1-800-634-2669

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy