Louisiana Business Owners Can Expect Licensing Reform

Date: January 31, 2018

 

Thus far, Gov. John Bel Edwards’ relationship with Louisiana’s business community hasn’t been the smoothest sailing, but there’s at least one thing on his 2018 agenda that employers can get on board with: regulatory reform.

In particular, Gov. Edwards is calling on lawmakers to review the state’s occupational licensing requirements. According to a November 2017 report from the Institute for Justice, Louisiana is the sixth most broadly and onerously licensed state. Its occupational licensing laws require, on average, $360 in fees, 202 days of education and experience, and approximately two exams; plus, it licenses 77 of the 102 lower-income occupations studied in the state. For example, Louisiana is the only state that requires florists to acquire licenses and just one of four states that requires licensing for interior designers.

While Gov. Edwards has not specified which licenses he thinks should be reformed, he did note that he’s not sure why Louisiana requires florist licensing. This proposal comes after he’s spent the past few months meeting with business leaders and is expected to be part of a regulatory relief package in the Louisiana regular session, which begins March 12.

Related Content: Small Business News | Economy | Louisiana

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today
1-800-634-2669

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy