Compliance starts Jan. 1, 2018. NFIB analyzes new Washington state law.
Voters in 2016 and the Washington State Legislature in 2017 passed new laws on paid leave. NFIB has established this webpage as a one-stop resource for information on both laws. Check this page for updates.
Initiative 1433, passed by voters Nov. 8, 2016, not only raises the minimum wage to $11.50 an hour starting Jan. 1, 2018, but also institutes new paid sick and safe leave requirements, taking effect the same day. NFIB/Washington State Director Patrick Connor has analyzed the Dept. of Labor & Industries first set of ‘final rules.’ An overview of the new requirements can be read here.
Senate Bill 5975, signed into law by Gov. Jay Inslee July 5, 2017, creates a new state-run paid family and medical leave insurance program, funded by a payroll tax on workers and employers. Beginning in 2020, the new law will allow workers 12 to 16 weeks paid leave due to the birth or placement of a child, a family member’s or the worker’s own serious health condition, and two additional weeks paid leave for pregnancy- or childbirth-related complications. The full text of SB 5975 can be read here.
Related News and Information on Initiative 1433
Related News and Information on Senate Bill 5975