Members of New Jersey Legislature Named Guardians of Small Business

Date: November 01, 2017

The National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) presents pro-small business legislators with its most prestigious award

Trenton (November 1, 2017) – The National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB), New Jersey’s leading advocate for small businesses, has awarded members of both the Senate and Assembly with its annual Guardian of Small Business Award for outstanding support of New Jersey’s small business owners.


“Many elected officials purport to be champions of small business, but our Guardian Award shows our members and other small business owners who is really fighting for them in Trenton,” said NFIB New Jersey State Director, Laurie Ehlbeck. “Based on their voting record, these lawmakers are the most reliable advocates for small business in the Garden State.”


The Guardian of Small Business is NFIB’s most prestigious award. It is reserved for lawmakers who vote consistently with NFIB on the key issues identified by small business owners. NFIB tracks the votes of every member of the legislature. Senators and Assembly members who vote with NFIB members at least 70 percent of the time are eligible for the Guardian Award.   


“This past year was particularly tough for small business owners in part thanks to an increase in the gas tax. There were not many legislators that were willing to stand up against the increase, but those that did have our eternal gratitude,” continued Ehlbeck. “I was truly honored to have the opportunity to present them with these awards, and I look forward to continuing to work with them in the future as we ward off bad for business policies in Trenton.”


Recipients of this year’s award are:


Senator Christopher “Kip” Bateman– District 16

Senator Jennifer Beck – District 11

Senator Anthony Bucco – District 25

Senator Gerald Cardinale– District 39

Senator Christopher Connors – District 9

Senator Michael Doherty – District 23

Senator James Holzapfel – District 10

Senator Thomas Kean – District 21

Senator Joseph Pennacchio – District 26

Senator Samuel Thompson – District 12



Assemblyman Anthony Bucco – District 25

Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll– District 25

Assemblyman John DiMaio – District 23

Assemblyman Gregory McGuckin – District 10

Assemblyman Declan O’Scanlon – District 13

Assemblyman Erik Peterson – District 23

Assemblyman Gail Phoebus – District 24

Assemblyman Kevin Rooney – District 40

Assemblyman Brian Rumpf – District 9

Assemblyman David Russo – District 40

Assemblyman Parker Space – District 24

Assemblyman Jay Webber – District 26

Assemblyman David Wolfe – District 10






Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2018 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy