13 More Candidates Endorsed for Oregon Legislature

Date: June 28, 2016

Related Content: News Elections Oregon

SALEM, Ore., June 28, 2016—The state’s leading small-business association today released its second round of legislative endorsements for the Oregon House and Oregon Senate, adding 13 candidates to the list of 29 incumbents running for re-election, announced on April 6.
“Our endorsements of incumbents were based on their voting records, today’s endorsements of candidates challenging an incumbent or running for an open seat were based on interviews and responses to questionnaires,” said Anthony K. Smith, Oregon state director for the National Federation of Independent Business, which has 325,000 small-business-owning members nationwide, including 7,000 in Oregon. Today’s endorsements were made by NFIB/Oregon SAFE Trust, the political action arm of NFIB/Oregon.
“Small businesses will never have the political action money to rival the war chests of big corporations or big labor unions,” said Smith. “but collectively they have something neither can begin to match: The highest esteem held by the American people of any institution and an educational influence on voters in their areas that is exponentially greater than any series of TV ads or mailers could beat.” Check out The Power of the Small Business Vote for more information. 
“We have an old saying at NFIB, which is ‘candidates choose us, we don’t choose them.’ This is why we support candidates who make small business a top priority,” said NFIB/Oregon SAFE Trust Chairman Alan Brown of Newport. “Oregon needs a small business majority in the Legislature, irrespective of party affiliations.”
A third round of endorsements for the state constitutional offices is forthcoming. Today’s endorsements included seven challengers and six candidates running for open seats. They were:
Oregon Senate
  • District 5: Dick Anderson (Lincoln City) – Challenger
  • District 25: Tamie Tlustos-Arnold (Fairview) – Challenger
  • District 28: Dennis Linthicum (Beatty) – Open Seat
Oregon House of Representatives
  • District 14:  Kathy Lamberg (Eugene) – Open Seat
  • District 20:  Laura Morett (Salem) – Challenger
  • District 22:  Patti Milne (Woodburn) – Open Seat
  • District 24:  Ron Noble (McMinnville) – Open Seat
  • District 29:  Juanita Lint (Forest Grove) – Challenger
  • District 32:  Bruce Bobek (Astoria) – Challenger
  • District 35:  Jessica Cousineau (Tigard) – Challenger
  • District 40:  Evon Tekorius (Oregon City) – Open Seat
  • District 50:  Michael Calcagno (Gresham) – Challenger
  • District 51:  Lori Chavez-DeRemer (Happy Valley) – Open Seat
For more than 70 years, the National Federation of Independent Business has been the Voice of Small Business, taking the message from Main Street to the halls of Congress and all 50 state legislatures. NFIB annually surveys its members on state and federal issues vital to their survival as America’s economic engine and biggest creator of jobs. NFIB’s educational mission is to remind policymakers that small businesses are not smaller versions of bigger businesses; they have very different challenges and priorities.
National Federation of Independent Business/Oregon
3340 Commercial St. S.E. Suite 210
Salem, OR 97302
Twitter NFIB_OR

Related Content: News | Elections | Oregon

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is America's leading small business association, promoting and protecting the right of our members to own, operate, and grow their business

Find out more about
NFIB Membership

Or call us today



State Issues

Choose Your State


YEF Foundation Research Center Legal Foundation

Member Benefits